Folk Festival on the Canal 2012

I’d like to begin with a whole-hearted “Thank You” to whoever it was that thought to have music events outdoors. I know that’s vague, and it probably wasn’t a “thing” someone created, but it’s gratitude well-deserved, perhaps owed to the very progression of mankind as musical beings and not necessarily to one average Joe/Jane than put two and two together. All the same. Music and fresh air. Genius.

This past weekend was Montreal’s Folk Festival on the Canal. Vicky and I ventured there last year and have since been fabulously immersed in MTL’s folk music scene. Last year, on a sleepy Sunday, Vic and I found ourselves among a small group of easy-listeners, hardly  more than a handful of people, and a tiny stage. Several acts were lined up and didn’t disappoint but there was also a large chunk of time devoted to free play where artists came up together, took requests, and kept things simple. Lovely. This year was quite different but no less enjoyable. No tiny subwoofers but a huge, well put-together stage. No more unaccompanied solo artists making it up as they go but bands with well thought out set lists. Not only that, but this festival got discovered. The amount of people was refreshingly surprising. Glad to see these artists, mostly local, all Canadian, if I’m not mistaken, getting the support they deserve.

As well-seasoned folk groupies, Vic and I went into the two-day free festival with a few acts we had seen before and were anxious to see again, these being Joey Wright, Rob Lutes, and the ever-awesome Notre Dame de Grass. Joey Wright, a great guitarist who I know mostly for his elaborate instrumentals, turned out just to be backing up another artist who was slightly disappointing. Would have loved to hear some of his full-band instrumentals. Oh well. Wasn’t feeling Rob Lutes this time, either. I think I was hoping for the unaccompanied Mr Lutes, though he and his band obviously knew what they were doing and most of the crowd seemed to be enjoying their set. NDG was fantastic as usual. No surprise there. Polished harmonies, virtuosic playing. Hard to go wrong.

The highlight of this festival, aside from NDG and the vast amount of picnicking with fabulous people that went on in those two days, was discovering new musicians to add to my ever expanding library. Two in particular stand out, the first being the local Bent by Elephants. Awesome pop-folk-indie-bluesy sound. I know that’s overwhelming, but so was their sound! In a great way. The lead singer’s voice reminded me of a perfect blend of Ingrid Michaelson, Florence Welch (of Florence + the Machine), and Regina Spektor. Lots of body with equally impressive restraint. Chilling phrasing and pure talent. She was something. And the band did much more than just support such a voice. With unique guitar riffs (including an intro on guitar played with a bow), the always exciting choice of a stand-up bass instead of the bass guitar, and a touch of Bon Iver-styled trumpet, they packed a serious punch. Check out Mollie’s Song here.

Next up on stage, and second on my list of “must-listen-to”s for anyone who didn’t make it to the show, was Dala. I’ll admit, to look at them didn’t inspire much confidence. Two girls, both quite petit, one quite bouncy. Little hard to take seriously during their setup. Sometimes it sucks to be proven wrong; this was not one of those times. Can’t judge a book… Amanda (the ‘da’ of Dala) and Sheila (the ‘la’ – so many fun options there – Sheman, Lada, Manla…. Dala was a good choice) came out with a fierce energy and light banter with suited their happy-go-lucky stage presence. Their music was a fun mix of the lighter side of things, from songs with decorative piano themes, to some serious ballads – all of which were marked by tight harmonies and a sense that each of them truly understood the other’s voice. When I hear that kind of connection between voices, I get chills. And let me just say, the goosebumps were not in short supply. Ranging over guitars to duets on the piano to ukelele – these were two very talented ladies. Well worth a listen. Here’s a low-key and beautiful one called Horses: went for the live version (aired on PBS, actually) since that’s what hooked me.

Sometimes I can’t believe I’m leaving this city. These festivals that pop up, the shows that are going on pretty much every night, the like-minded, easy going crowds… As things are winding down and my moving date draws closer, I’m just so glad to be getting in what I can before I go and so happy to have the priceless experience of Folk Fest so fresh in mind.

This entry was posted in Music.

Leave a comment